The nominees are in and the votes are being tallied for the third-annual Art of Achievement of Awards, presented by the Flint & Genesee Chamber of Commerce and the Flint & Genesee Convention and Visitors Bureau.

This year’s gala will be held Nov. 15, from 5:30 to 8:30 p.m., at the Flint Institute of Arts. The format is slightly different from previous years, with the awards program beginning at 6 p.m. and the hors d’oeuvres reception following afterwards. There will also be a cash bar.

“The committee felt that starting the evening off with the awards program would allow the nominees and guests to mingle afterwards in a more relaxed setting,” said Heather Kale, Director of Member Services at the Flint & Genesee Chamber. “Also, the FIA is a fabulous venue for event like the Art of Achievement Awards. We’re looking forward to a fun evening.”

Tickets are $25 and tickets may be purchased here.

The following individuals and companies are nominees in the business category:

CEO Business Award – Any company with 50 or more employees.

  • ELGA Credit Union
  • Genesee County Parks
  • Mass Transportation Authority
  • Regional Medical Imaging (RMI)

Small Business Award – Any company with less than 50 employees.

  • The Content Effect
  • Flint Comix & Entertainment
  • Global Treatment Solutions
  • Park Place Hair Studio
  • Peerless Mattress Co.
  • Rynelle Walker Photography/Studio 18
  • Steady Eddy’s Café

Minority Owned Business Award – Any minority-owned business in the community.

  • Chica’s Fitness
  • Elite Career Solutions
  • Trion Solutions

Nonprofit Impact Award – Any charity, church or nonprofit making great strides to positively impact any facet of the Flint and Genesee community.

  • Communities First, Inc.
  • Flint Unity Farming Project
  • Forge Flint
  • Foster Closet of Genesee County
  • GearUp 2 Lead
  • My Dreams Do Come True
  • WOW Outreach/Kenyetta Dotson

Young Professional Leader Award – Any young professional 35 or younger making great strides to benefit their company and/or the community.

  • Amber Taylor, Purves Construction
  • DeWaun Robinson, Artistic Visions
  • Glenn Wilson, Communities First, Inc.
  • Marcus Bieth, Flint T-Shirts
  • Sarha Sellers, Hashtaglunchbag-Flint
  • Yasmin Ladha, C&L Ward
  • Mackenzie Benson, Alexis Kiefer, Molly Moerman & Taylor Twohig, Genesee Intermediate School District (GISD) Dream and Discover Initiative

Claire M. White Award – Honoring a woman working for the betterment of Flint & Genesee in community, career or someone else’s life.

  • Laura Sorenson, SageLink Credit Union
  • Jackie Mason, Mid-Michigan AMBUCS
  • Crystal Dillard, Flint Cultural Center
  • Essence Wilson, Communities First, Inc.
  • Kristy Cantleberry, KellerWilliams Realty
  • Dr. Nicole Wax
  • Amy McMillan, Genesee County Parks
  • Melanie Zaucha, RMI

The following companies and individuals are nominees in the hospitality category:

Hotel of the Year This award recognizes a Genesee County hotel for its outstanding service, comfort and attention to hotel guests, providing an excellent overall experience.

  • Best Western Flint Airport Inn & Suites
  • Comfort Inn Grand Blanc
  • Courtyard Flint/Grand Blanc
  • Flint Residence Inn Marriott
  • Holiday Inn Express Flint – Campus Area
  • Holiday Inn Gateway Centre
  • Super 8 Miller Road/Airport
  • Wingate by Wyndham

Restaurant of the Year

  • Churchill’s Food & Spirits
  • La Familia Morales
  • The Cork on Saginaw
  • The Lunch Studio

In addition, the Chamber will present several special honors, including the Gloria J. DeHart Award, Hospitality Ambassador Award, Frontline Ambassador Award and Community Champion Award.