The Flint & Genesee Chamber of Commerce will again recognize business excellence and community leadership with the fourth-annual Art of Achievement Awards. The presentation gala is Nov. 9 at the Flint Institute of Arts.

More than 40 businesses and organizations, along with nearly 70 individuals, have been nominated for recognition.

The following individuals and companies are nominees in the business category:

CEO Business Award – Any company with 50 or more employees.

  • Consumers Energy
  • Pioneer State Mutual Insurance
  • Huntington Bank
  • Flint NOW Foundation/Platinum Equity
  • My City Magazine

Small Business Award – Any company with less than 50 employees.

  • Ashlor Staffing
  • Taylor Psychological Clinic
  • Rayburn Real Estate
  • Benzer Pharmacy
  • Hoffman’s Deco Deli & Café
  • iSource Worldwide
  • Skaff Furniture & Carpet

Minority Owned Business Award – Any minority-owned business in the community.

  • Jessica Hatter Photography
  • Double Dragon Tang Soo Do
  • GoodBoy Clothing
  • Park Place Hair Studio
  • Honey Bee Palace Child Care Center

Nonprofit Impact Award – Any charity, church or nonprofit making great strides to positively impact any facet of the Flint and Genesee community.

  • Whaley Children’s Center
  • Bangtown Productions and Recordings
  • FWOGC, Inc.
  • My Brother’s Keeper
  • Old Newsboys of Flint
  • CMB Basketball
  • Crim Fitness Foundation
  • Communities First, Inc.
  • Flint Institute of Arts
  • Mott Community College
  • Crime Stoppers of Flint and Genesee County

Young Professional Leader Award – Any young professional 40 or younger making great strides to benefit their company and/or the community.

  • Isaiah Oliver, President, Community Foundation of Greater Flint
  • Malissa Grimm, Educator, Carman-Ainsworth Community Schools
  • Amber Taylor, Owner, Taylor Health & Wellness
  • Devon Godfrey, Owner, Play Frey Technologies
  • DeWaun Robinson, CEO, Artistic Visions Enterprise

Claire M. White Award – Honoring a woman working for the betterment of Flint & Genesee in community, career or someone else’s life.

  • Claudnyse Jenkins, Executive Director, Weiss Advocacy Center
  • Nicole Wax, Dr. Wax Orthodontics
  • Jessyca Mathews, Educator, Carman-Ainsworth Community Schools
  • Margaret Kato, Executive Director, Genesee County Habitat for Humanity
  • Lennetta Bradley Coney, President, The Foundation for Mott Community College
  • Julie Lopez, Director, Crime Stoppers of Flint and Genesee County

The following companies and individuals are nominees in the hospitality category:

Hotel of the Year – This award recognizes a Genesee County hotel for its outstanding service, comfort and attention to hotel guests, providing an excellent overall experience.

  • Best Western Flint Airport Inn & Suites
  • Comfort Inn Grand Blanc
  • Courtyard Flint/Grand Blanc
  • Hampton Inn & Suites Flint/Grand Blanc
  • Knights Inn
  • Knob Hill Bed & Breakfast

Restaurant of the Year – Recognizes a Genesee County restaurant for their outstanding service, menu and overall experience of the customer.

  • Blackstone’s Pub & Grill
  • Blondie’s Food & Spirits
  • Churchill’s Food & Spirits
  • Cork on Saginaw
  • J Porter’s

Frontline Ambassador Award – This award recognizes a hospitality worker – front desk staff, host/hostess, housekeeper, guest services and maintenance – in a Genesee County hotel who provides outstanding service to guests staying at their establishment. The nominees are:

Baymont Inn & Suites

  • Basem Assaf
  • Tania Baylock
  • Ahmad Bakr
  • Sarah McWhirter
  • Elias Najjar
  • Juliana Zuraqiat

Best Western Flint Airport Inn & Suites

  • Jeanette Anderson
  • Diana Baricska
  • Avante Hatter
  • Elizabeth Morris
  • Amber Spence
  • Kenisha Spencer
  • Traci Wing

Comfort Inn Grand Blanc

  • Zach Glynn
  • Victoria Leonard
  • William McIntyre
  • Kristina Metz
  • Isareal Trejo
  • Suzette Wilson
  • Taparis Wilson

Courtyard Flint/Grand Blanc

  • Abby Ashlock
  • Jerome Evans
  • Keith Evans
  • Dominique Hightower

Hampton Inn & Suites Flint Grand Blanc

  • Geraldine Geske
  • Cheyenne Holland
  • Ramona Johnson
  • Lettie Lane
  • Cris Leavitt
  • Megan Mannor
  • Andre McGee
  • Cheryl McMullen
  • Lois Miller
  • Angela Murphy

Holiday Inn Flint Grand Blanc Area

  • Kim Angeli
  • Mary Bates
  • Crystal Doyle
  • Nicole Mason
  • Tammy Ranaldi

Knights Inn

  • Thomas Cummings
  • Crystal Law
  • Melissa Lewis
  • Rhonda Myers

Super 8 Miller Road/Airport

  • RJ Jones
  • April Hightower
  • Casaris Watkins

Hospitality Ambassador Award – Recognizes exemplary customer service in the non-hotel areas of food service, bartender, transportation, business, etc.

  • Dakota Allison, server, Blackstone’s Pub & Grill
  • Shannon Boisclair, server/bartender, Cork on Saginaw
  • Bridget Brown, server, Cork on Saginaw
  • Kayla Ferguson, hostess, J Porter’s
  • Thomas Jackson, server, Epoch Catering-Genesys
  • Case Lawrence, server, Table & Tap
  • Michael Lynn, server, Cork on Saginaw
  • Alyssa Mundale, bartender, J Porter’s
  • Ann Reith, server/bartender, Cork on Saginaw
  • Mary Smith, server, Blackstone’s Pub & Grill
  • Samantha VanderMey, server, J Porter’s

Entertainment Venue of the Year – Recognizes an entertainment or live performing arts venue that continues to raise the bar, offering an array top notch entertainment to the community and visitors.

  • Crossroads Village & Huckleberry Railroad
  • The Machine Shop Concert Lounge
  • Sloan Museum

In addition, the Chamber will present several special honors at the Nov. 9 gala, including:

  • Economic Development Project of the Year
  • Certified Tourism Ambassador (CTA) of the Year
  • Small Business Contractor of the Year
  • Community Champion Award
  • Gloria DeHart Award
  • Robert P. Gerholz Award
  • Art Hurand Award
  • Charles Stewart Mott Award

Tickets $25 per person, with a cash bar, and may be purchased online here.